The Barrington's History

Welcome to the Barrington House Bed & Breakfast — a breathtaking study in the grace and grand elegance of a time gone by.

Built circa 1914 by R.L. Godwin, the house contains some 6,000 square feet, with four second-floor guestrooms and two and a half baths. The Barrington House Estate sits amid six acres of beautifully landscaped lawns, gardens, and a pasture surrounded by a colonial era fence.

The estate was originally home to a dairy and included barns and livestock. The landscape suffered tremendous damage, however, in 1954, when Hurricane Hazel struck, and again when Hurricane Fran hit in 1995. Hundreds of huge hardwood trees were lost.

In 2003, Irvin Warren, a local businessman, purchased the property and made major renovations to the house and grounds. Mr. Warren added the colonial columns — not originally a feature of the house — onto the front porch, as well as a wrap around porch and all of the wainscoting and marble found throughout the home and surrounding the fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, oriental rugs and lavish period furniture became a part of the new decor.
There have been major additions outside as well, including a copper-roofed gazebo, a wishing well, a fountain, and an outside den with its own fireplace. The original brick garage with dirt floor has been transformed into a convivial pub-like serving area and christened the Carriage House. The space now boasts cobblestone floors and a fireplace. A storage area and outdoor restrooms were also added for convenience.

Mr. Warren’s renovations and additions have rendered Barrington House into an opulent and entrancing setting, suitable for a variety of social functions, including weddings, receptions, dinners, family reunions, gala parties, and corporate meetings. And, of course, as a Bed & Breakfast, Barrington House offers guests a charming escape into the classic splendor of another era. The house, which has been home to the Godwin, Stephens, Davis and Warren families, employs its own groundskeeper.